Vietnam launches e-visas for visitors from 40 countries

Vietnam launches e-visas for visitors from 40 countries. Nationals of eligible countries will be able to apply for a 30-day single-entry e-visa starting February 1.

The Vietnamese government has announced a two-year pilot plan to launch an electronic visa system for foreign tourists visiting the country.

Under a government directive released in late January, citizens from 40 countries will be eligible to apply for the e-visas starting on February 1st 2017.

To apply for e-visas, foreign citizens can access the websites or


Applicants are required to complete a form available on two separate websites (one in Vietnamese and the other in English) run by the Ministry of Public Security. They will receive an application code and will be asked to pay a non-refundable fee online. It will take three working days for tourists to find out if their applications have been approved or not, according to the directive. Successful applicants will be able to print off their e-visas to present when they arrive.

Entrance gate

Visitors can touch down at any of Vietnam's eight international airports, including Tan Son Nhat in Ho Chi Minh City, Noi Bai in Hanoi and Da Nang in the central region. They can also arrive via land at 13 international border gates, and via sea at seven ports across the country.

Note: Apart from visa exemptions for tourists from the Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN), Vietnam offers 15-day visa exemptions for visitors from the U.K., France, Germany, Spain, Italy, Russia, Japan, South Korea, Denmark, Norway, Poland, Sweden and Belarus.

List of countries whose citizens are eligible to apply for e-visas to Vietnam

  1. Azerbaijan
  2. Argentina
  3. Armenia
  4. Ireland
  5. Poland
  6. Belarus
  7. Bulgaria
  8. Brunei
  9. South Korea
  10. Germany
  11. Chile
  12. Colombia
  13. Czech Republic
  14. Cuba
  15. Denmark
  16. Timor Leste
  17. United States of America
  18. Hungary
  19. Greece
  20. Italy
  21. Kazakhstan
  22. Russia
  23. United Kingdom
  24. Luxembourg
  25. Myanmar
  26. Mongolia
  27. Japan
  28. Panama
  29. Peru
  30. Finland
  31. France
  32. The Philippines
  33. Romania
  34. Spain
  35. Sweden
  36. China (not applicable to Chinese e-passport holders)
  37. Uruguay
  38. Venezuela
  39. Norway
  40. Slovakia



Related Posts